WineXpert Gewurztraminer

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

100LL

Reaction score
Should be a very basic question...but its my first time

started the Gewurztraminer on 5/11/10 and have not racked to secondary yet...smells great though!

my question was concerning bulk aging with these kits....recommended or follow instructions to the t?
and if bulk aging, when do you add the extra metabisulphate?

I always recommend at least some because even with using a fining agent they will drop more very fine sediment (Lees) after doing so. It also gives the wine a little time to age before we can get our greedy little hands on those bottles! LOL

mmadmike, that is a lot of sulfites and I dont recommend that much at all! I add 1/4 tsp per 6 gallon batch as recommended and then another 1/4 tsp after 3 months of bulk aging.
If bottling at time od adding or within a few weeks and expecting to cellar fpor a year or more then another 1/4 tsp is all that is needed.

thanks guys, i re-read the directions ( its a vintners reserve kit ) and there is no second racking before bottling. The website says to do all the degassing, stablilizing, and clearing with the sediment included.
If i want to do a bulk aging, should i rack a second time and then add the sulfites before storing it, once i have let it settle down with the clearing agents and everything?

ETA: well looks like i missed something, the directions DO say to rack to a clean carboy before bulk aging, and recommend adding the sulfites at that time. thanks for the advice

Last edited: