Fruit Nectars

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

el wino

Reaction score
I have a question.Can fruit nectars be used to make wine.I believe they 100% natural..I am new to the art of wine making..

Welcome el wino,

Could you please give us more info on the product like what it is exactly and who makes it.

Thanks

certainly,fruit nectars made by jumex or del valle..I think they are imports from mexico...I see them in H.E.B grocers & Fiesta Mkt.grocers...They come in 12 or 16 oz.cans...

A little Info for ya EL WINO!!!!Found this article and you will be quite suprised!!

Jumex juices recalled due to lead contamination
<DIV =artViewCard>
<DIV =artPubLine>Several varieties of Jumex brand fruit nectars and pineapple juice were recalled by the manufacturer last July because of lead contamination. FDA warned consumers not to drink the recalled products because high concentrations of lead can result in permanent, severe injuries.
<DIV =artContent>

Although lead poisoning can cause short-term acute symptoms, such as gastrointestinal problems, it sometimes can be hard to confirm. Individuals who think they may have consumed the recalled drinks on a regular basis should consult their doctors.

Lead solder used to seal side seams of the drink cans is the suspected cause of the contamination. The acidic content of the fruit drinks makes them particularly susceptible to lead solder contamination. Vilore Foods Co., Inc., imported the drinks from Mexico for sale in the United States. The U.S. food canning industry no longer uses lead-soldered cans for food marketed for human consumption.