Fresh Pinot Noir juice (Santa Clara)

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bobski911

Junior
Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

Can I get some advice here. I have made these juice wines before but I just let them ferment like my Italian neighbor does. So I'm pretty new to making adjustments and adding things to the juice. This year I was planning to do a little more with them to get a better quality of wine. However, I just got my buckets of fresh juice in today (Two Pinot Noir and one Merlot) I checked the S.G. and its 1.010. I'm assuming its been fermenting for a while now. What would be my next move here? Carboy?

I'm not sure if these have been pre-balanced (ph,ta). I was planning on adding yeast, but is it too late? Has the wild yeast taken over too much? That is if it is wild yeast.

Any recommendations? Is there anything I should add to it at this stage? Yeast Nutrient etc.? What type of yeast I should add?

Thanks guys

Hi Everyone,

Can I get some advice here. I have made these juice wines before but I just let them ferment like my Italian neighbor does. So I'm pretty new to making adjustments and adding things to the juice. This year I was planning to do a little more with them to get a better quality of wine. However, I just got my buckets of fresh juice in today (Two Pinot Noir and one Merlot) I checked the S.G. and its 1.010. I'm assuming its been fermenting for a while now. What would be my next move here? Carboy?

I'm not sure if these have been pre-balanced (ph,ta). I was planning on adding yeast, but is it too late? Has the wild yeast taken over too much? That is if it is wild yeast.

Any recommendations? Is there anything I should add to it at this stage? Yeast Nutrient etc.? What type of yeast I should add?

Thanks guys

Welcome!
WOW! it fermented all the way to 1.010?