Finishing wine

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jerryd68

Junior
Reaction score
Hi all, great forum,
I am just learning all of this I have made beer for quite some time but this is my first attempts at wine.
I have a few wines in the carboys, I let them all go though primary fermentation is a plastic bucket fermenter and then moved them to glass 3 gallon carboys where they have been for approx 3 months.
2 are grape from my vines
1 is an italian plum
1 is apple
1 is choke cherry
My question to you all is? We should I bottle these wines and what do I need to do other than get the wine into a bottle with a cork? Degas? how do I do it? should I add anything? back sweeten? What do I back sweeten with?

I'd stabilize them with Potassium metabisulfite (meta), as far as back sweetening, do you prefer a sweeter fruit wine? If you plan on back sweetening, you will need to add Sorbate as well, then back sweeten to your personal level of sweetness.
I'd let the wines age for at least 6 months,

Two of the more common ways to degas:
Stir like crazy with a drill attachment. Pulse it forward and backwards to avoid forming the dreaded whirlpool effect. You don't want to add more 02 to your wine. The second way being to place it under vacuum until it will hold steady at 22" or so. I run mine up to 25" using a brake bleeder from harbor freight.

If you want to go all in buy the AIO pump (I did). Once you vacuum rack it a couple of times there isn't much left for the brake bleeder to do.

Good luck with your wines.

I'd stabilize them with Potassium metabisulfite (meta), as far as back sweetening, do you prefer a sweeter fruit wine? If you plan on back sweetening, you will need to add Sorbate as well, then back sweeten to your personal level of sweetness.
I'd let the wines age for at least 6 months,