Fast Wine

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CowboyPhil

Reaction score
I have a question, I am new to wine making but I have noticed that, whatever time it usually takes to "make" wine mine seems to go much faster. I can put a gallon in a primary and by the time I get 3 weeks in the Alc content is where it should be. Does the rest of the time just mellow and age the wine. Because none of mine has taken 3 monthes or 6 monthes. It usually takes about 6-8 weeks what am I doing wrong?

You can have 12% ethanol in 7 days. The rest is just waiting for things to settle down and for some chemistry to happen that will improve the taste big time down the road.

What are you using to "make wine"?

Standard Equipment, the cranberry wine, consisted of Cranberries, Acid Blend, Tannin, Peptic Enzyme Sugar and Champane Yeast.
It really does taste good, to everyone that has tasted it, and it took about 6 weeks from start to finish. But, just want to be sure I am OK. I used Potassium Metabisulphite to kill of the yeast and Benotite to clarify. It tastes a bit tart, like a cranberry sauce and has about 9 to 10% alchohol.

Are you making only a gallon at a time? If so sounds like you may pick up a few larger carboys and make more. Perhaps that way some of your wine will get a chance to age and you'll see how good it can be.

I very rarely add clearing to my homemade wines anymore and add them in the kits when I'm not aging them so that slows my process down but have been getting a better product.

As far as fast a fermentation, so many things can help the process along
and warm temps and healthy yeast will speed things along nicely.