Extreme oak taste - getting worried

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Wiccan_Lager

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I have a 6 gal carboy of Petite sirah/zinfandel and alicante blend that I just racked off of a 3oz bag of light toast american oak. They were in the wine for about 2 months, as recommended on the bag. I am, however, quite concerned. This is my first time ever using oak cubes.

The taste of oak is incredibly strong. It overpowers the wine completely. I am hoping that as the wine ages for a about another half a year that it will mellow out but I don't know for sure. At the moment, it tastes like firewood that I spilled grapes into.

Will the flavor of the oak mellow out as the wine ages or is this a "what you taste now is what you get" situtation.

The oak flavor will fall back. How much though, I can't tell you. I do know that I have wines that were very oaky to me six months ago and are not so now.

It will mellow out over time - you might need to age this a good year though - depends on how much oak you like in a bottle of wine..

So taste test and see where you like it...