experienced homebrewer, first time winemaker — does my must need adjustments?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mcpusc

Junior
Reaction score
i've been brewing beer at home for 15 years, but this is my first (serious) attempt at making wine. i got 50# each of zinfandel and merlot grapes, rented a crusher/destemmer and each variety produced right around 5 gallons of must. i ran pH and TA tests on the musts and these are my results:

merlot:
23.5 brix, 3.46pH, TA 5.10g/L tartaric eqv. [edit: bad data, re-ran tests below]

zinfandel:
24brix, 3.19pH, TA 8.1g/L tartaric eqv.

i added 5 campden tablets to each fermenting pail and 0.38 gram Lallzyme EX-V tonight. tomorrow night i will pitch a packet of Red Star Premier Classique. i don't have temp control, but the room i'm fermenting in is about 68, which should give a fermentation temperature in the low 70s.

I guess i'm mostly looking for advice on whether any adjustments are needed for these musts.

also wondering if there are any gotchas that my homebrew experience might lead to now that i'm making wine

thanks!

Last edited:
welcome to Wine Making Talk

* you will find that folks are all over the place here. You as a brewer have done 5% brews successfully. it works. ,,, What do you want? There is no rule to say 15%ABV is better.
* The Merlot is beautiful. The zin a bit high on acid. Consider running MLF on it to pull it down to 0.6%. Another consideration is cold crashing which pulls bitartrate out. If you cold crash as in a garage this stops MLF till spring.
* good luck, as a midwestern / northern hybrid fermenter your must is miles ahead of what I have.

Welcome to WMT!

My first suggestion is that 98% of what you know about brewing beer does not apply to wine. The one commonality is that both involve yeast fermentation. Everything else is different.