elderflowers

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

winesilly

Reaction score
I am new to this and I am starting my first batch of wine. I have elderflowers sitting on the top of my juice in my bucket and I am just wondering what I do before racking into my carboy. I am on day 4 and will be testing soon to see if I can move over to carboy. Do I scoop them out before racking the the wine to stage 2 or just leave them there.

Help a newbe please

I generally put any such items in a fruit bag prior to fermentation. Then when ready I simply pull the bag, give it a squeeze, or two depending on what it contains, then I can wait a day or so for it to settle and rack. Since you did not use a fruit bag, you may want to strain the flowers out. I have a large wire mesh spoon that I use for scoop straining such things also. I would leave the flowers in the must until the SG get down around 1.000, Remove them and let stand until the SG stays below 1.000 for 3 days then rack into carboy.

I would stir every day to increase the elderflower presence in the wine. Do not stir the day you plan to siphon the wine.Keep the siphon below the elderflowers and they will be just lower with the top until the primary is empty. should some get sucked into the secondary, I always rack after three days and these elderflowers sill rack out then.

Is this a kit? You can put a pantyhose stocking into the neck of your carboy and put your racking cane into it to strain out the elderflowers easy. You should try to stir them into the must so they get everything out of the flowers. WVMJ