WineXpert Crushendo kit - using mesh bag for skins

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MN-winer

Reaction score
Hey all,

I'm going to start the WE Sonoma Cab w/crushendo tonight. I noticed that the kit includes a strainer thing you put in your racking tube for the racking to avoid transferring the skins from the primary. Has anyone just put the skins in a mesh bag instead? It would seem to be easier but then the skins really won't be floating around as much and I want to make sure the skins add something to this kit.

I'm a newbie as well and my first skins kit I put them in loose. Major hassle to rack into the secondary though. My next one I bought some 5 gal paint strainer bags from the local paint shop (as learned from in here) and put them in that. Way easier to clean up and there is a lot more room than the supplied mess bag.
Cheers!
Darren

Thats what I was thinking of doing as well but I'm worried about not letting the skins free and float around. I saw the strange little racking filters they gave me and I thought that racking might take a long time if these skins clog them up.
I don't to risk affecting the wine so I will let them float if others feel I need to.
Thanks for the reply.

You can talk to different people about whether or not the skins should be free floating and get a multitude of answers. It comes down to a personal preference.

I always put the skins in a mesh bag. Some say if you use a bag, you get less absorption of the goodies in the skins. IMO, the current produced by the fermentation process keeps the wine flowing through the skins continually.