Crush time...

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bruce53

Reaction score
I count eight things I should, or could, add at or about crush time for merlot. I read that some should come before others with some lag time involved for some. If I DID use them all, what would be their order of entry and lag time if any? Acid fix (if out of limits, cc or tt); enzyme; dap; wine yeast; yeast food; meta; tannin; inactivated yeast...
Obviously I am a real novice. Many thanks guys....

k-meta and tannin first - wait 12 hours - add pectic - wait 12 hours - adjust Brix and PH - add yeast nutrient (DAP) in - prepare yeast as per packet instructions - add yeast in.

What is considered a good SO2 mix for washing grapes before crushing? bk

I don't wash my grapes with an SO2 solution - just tap water.

But a good sanitizing mix is 3 tablespoons to a gallon of water.

You want about 50ppm SO2 per gallon of must to kill off any wild yeast, etc.

0.33 grams per gallon results in 50ppm. For 10 gallons you would need 3.3 grams of powdered meta-bisulfite. If you do not have a gram scale, ½ teaspoon (level) is about 3.3 grams and adds 50ppm (“total”) to 10 gallons. To use: Dilute the sulfite powder in water or juice before then mix into the must.

k-meta and tannin first - wait 12 hours - add pectic - wait 12 hours - adjust Brix and PH - add yeast nutrient (DAP) in - prepare yeast as per packet instructions - add yeast in.

This is not a test, just curious... ;)
It's always fun to learn other people's how-to's.
Lots of wine makers have made enough kits to really understand the process, but when it comes to that first, non-kit batch from fresh/frozen grapes/juice or fruit, it can be like starting all over.

At which of those stages would you add things like Opti-Red, lysozyme, ..etc?