Career in Viticulture?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tobinobin

Junior
Reaction score
Hi all, I recently quit a degree majoring in Geography (studying in the UK). I've been considering doing a full degree in horticulture, but the thought of becoming a gardener/garden landscaper doesn't appeal to me. Working in an environment such as an orchard/vineyard/commercial farm or even a plant nursery interests me much more. Added to this, I'm a passionate amateur home brewer; the whole process fascinates me. What I ask you is this - for an end goal of say becoming a vineyard manager, would a horticulture degree be worth the 3-4 years of study (Scottish university fees are paid for us remember), or would I be better off getting an apprenticeship for experience and working my way up, or a mix of both? Just to add, I'm currently 19 and would be 20 when next years course starts.

Now I realise there are no real vineyards in Scotland (I think there's one small experimental one!) - so I'd have to move down to England or even farther afoot, which isn't too big an issue for me personally (might be for the country though heh). If anyone has any words of wisdom, feel free.

No words of wisdom. just a few thoughts.
Neither Scotland nor the Rest of UK have a significant wineyard tradition or a significant wine producing industry, correct me if I'm wrong! So I wonder where you would expect to find a job with such a degree! I also don't think that anyone in France or the rest of wine-producing Europe would be interested in a wineyard manager who holds a degree from an unknown foreign educational institution and who doesn't speak the local language fluently. So I clearly favour the idea of self-study!