Cane tip during racking

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

John Prince

Reaction score
When racking your wine. Do you put the auto siphon cane tip in the sediment at first and let the sediment go to a bottle, or do you hold the tip above the sediment? Trying to make wine before it's time is my first mistake. I can solve that by drinking other wines. Racking wine without getting sediment is another problem of mine. Any thoughts?

Hey jprince,
I am a rookie at all this but I think I know the answer to your question. In 1 of Georges How To Videos he sticks the tip into the sediment and catches the small amount of wine with sediment in it in a bottle. It was only a 1/4 or so of a bottle. I did the same thing when I racked one time (ive only racked a few times) and then I put the wine through a coffee filter then "sampled" the wine.
smiley20.gif

John,

From the tip of the auto siphon to where the wine is drawn into it is about 7/8" so it depends on how much sediment is in the bottom of the carboy. You cannot always judge by what you see on the side of the carboy as there is a meniscus of sediment on the bottom that travels up the side of the glass. If you have a whole lot of sediment, like an 1" of more, you may have to suspend the siphon above it and get as much clear as possible. Then, transfer what is left to a second container and let it settle before siphoning the clear out of that container. You can do this with a smaller siphon set.

I have also found that if there is less sediment, I can tilt the carboy and brace it before inserting the siphon. If I disturb any of the sediment, I let it settle before proceeding. The geometry of a carboy and of the siphon are such that it wedges into the the carboy with the tip at the juncture of the base and the side and the body of the tube pressed into the throatof the carboy.