Can anyone recommend a good Cab and/or Petit Syrah?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Regmata

Reaction score
I am new to wine making and have only tried a few white kits so far. I tend to be pickier with my reds. I have been hesitant to try them since I have doubts that I will find any that are up to par. That is where you guys come in. Are there any good kits out there worth giving a go?

Thanks!

I am new to wine making and have only tried a few white kits so far. I tend to be pickier with my reds. I have been hesitant to try them since I have doubts that I will find any that are up to par. That is where you guys come in. Are there any good kits out there worth giving a go?

Thanks!
Kits do make good wine so long as you give them more time than the directions suggest. Pay for a more expensive kit $100+ and it will make good wine. Let me recommend a couple
http://eckraus.com/cabernet-sauvignon-wine-kit/

http://eckraus.com/european-select-cabernet-sauvignon/

http://eckraus.com/cellar-craft-sterling-collection-cabernet-sauvignon-california-reserve/

https://www.williamsbrewing.com/Petite-Sirah-Wine-Making-Kit-For-5-Gallons-P3116.aspx

With last one you have to buy yeast nutrients, yeast, bentonite, and anything else you need but is a really good concentrate.

I tend to look for skins and larger size of the juice when choosing a red kit to make, meaning more liters of juice is better. Bulk aging in a carboy after fermentation will also help, like as long as you can, a year+, adding potassium metabisulfite every three months, 1/4 tsp for 5-6 gallons.

Winexpert kits that have skins, like the Eclipse Barossa Valley Shiraz and the Bourbon Barrel Zinfandel Cabernet, which are 18liters and make good wine.

I would consider Under $100 kits low end. over 100 Medium, and 150-200 high end!