Barrel Newbie

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

WIld Ferment

Junior
Reaction score
I’ve been making wine for many years but have never taken the plunge into barrels. I’m considering buying a 20 gallon French oak barrel from ReCoop in Sonoma. They basically plane off a 1/4 inch off the staves from used barrels to create reconditioned ones.

My primary interest in barrels is micro oxygenation, not tannins from oak and certainly not the vanilla flavors that oak can impart.

My question is how to deal with the new wood. The first year I’d only use the barrel for three months (approximately 25% new wood). How do I maintain the barrel for the ninth months it’ll be out of service? Fill it with sulfited water?

I have tried the sulphur sticks

The sulfur sticks work but it is really only good to stretch like a month between emptying and refilling.

Longer term is to use the acidified sulfite water as @NorCal mentioned. About 1/4 cup citric and 1 tbsp Sulfites per 5 gal does the trick. It replicates wine reasonably well.

I bought a 25 liter barrel and neutralized it for the same reasons as you. My specific goal was to use it only for whites. I used a citric/Kmeta solution and dumped and refilled every two weeks for 8 weeks. The first wine, a Viognier was in the barrel for 5 weeks and I got an ever so slight hint of oak. The next wine was a Petit Manseng for 4 weeks. I just put the Viognier back in because I wanted a little more oak so it doesn't take terribly long to neutralize one. Your 20 gallon might take longer.

Thank you for the helpful responses. I’m leaning toward making it neutral with citric and kmeta just before I need it next year and that way I can leave the new Syrah in it for the full eleven months or so.