Backyard vineyard growth problem

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tabern01

Junior
Reaction score
I am a novice grape grower with around 100 vines located in Upstate NY. Four different varieties - this being my 4th summer in the ground (cab franc, noiret, cayuga white & vidal blanc).

The first 2 summers I experienced good to great growth. The winter (Jan) before my 3rd summer I pruned the trained vines back to 5-7 buds. That summer the vines seemed to go dormant with all growth coming from the base of the vines.

I tied off all new growth (basically doubling what was previously tied off) and waited for this summer to see which vines would show growth.

Unfortunately, I am seeing some vines with no growth and the only growth I have is from the base again.

Anybody have some advice? Soil? Insects? Fertilization?

Sorry for the long post (my first).
Tom

Where are you located exactly? The vines may have experience bud damage from cold., especially the Cab Franc. The others are also easily damaged if it got more than -10 to -15. You really should not have needed to prune back so severly before the third growing season. That is only done the second year to make for a larger trunk.

Welcome Tom, ^ that guys has all the answers but I have a few first year table grapes that all nine did the exact same after being froze like 4-6 times, they tried real hard to come back a few times then just gave up and started fresh from the root or under ground somewhere.

Hay them ain't grafted plants right.

The cab franc vines are grafted. I learned the seasonal limitations of grafted vines after planting. I mounded dirt over the grafted joint before winter - somewhat helpful.

Located in Tully, NY - on Green Lake (It's about 15 mins south of Syracuse. NY). I was following the direction from "Backyard Vinter" by Jim Law.