Avoiding Oxidation

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Segarram

Reaction score
I'm new to winemaking and had a quesiton on how to avoid oxidation after racking to the secondary carboy. I like to leave my wines in the secondary carboy for 6 months before bottling and often times there is not enough wine to top off.

I was wonder what methods experience winemakers do to prevent oxidation.

I personally will top off with a similar wine. or transfer to a smaller carboy.

I know others who use glass marbles - just be careful dropping them in.
I personally am not a big on argon or any other heavier gas,especially for that long of a time that you mentioned.

I was looking into using marbles but couldn't find any where the manufacturer would guarantee it was safe to put in drinking liquids. I've been using inert gas myself.

Do you top off with commercial wine or homemade similar wine?

I am very intrigued with joeswine nitrogen setup, I'd like to talk to him more about this!

I was looking into using marbles but couldn't find any where the manufacturer would guarantee it was safe to put in drinking liquids. I've been using inert gas myself.

I will typically top off with anything store bought or not that is similiar -

Just as a side note - ensuring you have adequate k-meta in your wine while aging will help protect against oxidation, regardless of whether you top up or displace with marbles (my recommended approach).

Incidentally, it was pointed out in previous threads on the topic that we use glass carboys all the time without explicit guarantees that the glass does not use lead. Why worry about the marbles, then?