Alexander concentrates

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

alley rat

Junior
Reaction score
I'm fairly new to winemaking, and have had what I would call better
than expected results with Alexanders concentrates. I also notice,
however, sun-cal and Alexander type deals are kinda poo-pooed and
looked down upon or at least thats the impression I'm getting. Now, so
far, I've made a beaujolais and a chablis, both full bodied, using the
three can approach. Letting them age a year? Not an option at
this point. Am I drinking and enjoying them straight out of the
secondary? Yes I am. Now, cooking is my real hobby, so, obviously, I
know what tastes good and what does not. I am my own worst critic, and
would be the first to admit it if my wine sucked. Basically Iguess I'd
like to know why these "scratch-can" deals, as I call them, are so
easily dismissed. Can't seem to keep up with the demand for red around
here, so I started five gallons each of merlot and zinfandel yesterday.
Am considering introducing some oak into the merlot. Anyone with any
input or feedback, talk to me. I'll be going by the name Alley-rat.
Glad I stumbled onto this forum, after reading Everything, I feel like
I know you all already.

Welcome AlleyRat