aerobic vs anaerobic fermentation

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BernardSmith

Reaction score
I am a skeptical guy. My background is in the social sciences, not the physical sciences and I am always looking for proof whenever I hear some claim or other.
I understand that yeast requires oxygen to reproduce but may require less (or no oxygen) when reproduction is of less importance to us compared to the yeast's activity in converting sugar into alcohol.
So, the rule of thumb seems to be that in the early stage of making wine we pitch the yeast into large buckets without sealed lids and airlocks (aerobic fermentation) . Later when the yeast has reproduced enough and has converted almost all the sugar to alcohol we rack the wine into a smaller container and seal it with an airlock (anaerobic fermentation). My question is how much O2 does the yeast need to reproduce? Might there be enough O2 in water that has neither been distilled nor filtered through reverse osmosis? Has anyone measured the activity of yeast in a known quantity of must in an open bucket compared to a sealed carboy? I know that we are supposed to stir the must twice a day to introduce additional air into the wine but how necessary is this? Has anyone checked to see if a failure to do so really inhibits the reproduction of the yeast or indeed degrades or kills the yeast or puts it into such stress that off flavors result?

OK,

I understand your confusion.

The terms used are confusing and incorrect. All Fermentation (the process of converting sugar to alcohol), does not require oxygen. All fermentation performed by yeast is anerobic. For the sake of clarity, lets just use the term Fermentation and reproduction.