Acid testing: before or after?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Coaster

Reaction score
I see that many recipes call for acid blend during the make up of the must but I’ve read that acid should be measured after fermentation since there are some acids bound by the sugar and others are consumed during fermentation. So, do I need to test before or after and adjust accordingly (each time maybe)?

I am no expert at acid testing but I believe you test the must and after fermentation the wine to adjust the flavor.

Smurfe

I believe both before pitching and after full fermentation is the logical thing

If you get it right on the front end you should not have to adjust after fermentation. I use my high tech tongue to do my acid testing so what do i know
smiley36.gif

I have always tested the must and adjusted and have never been very far
off at the end. Although I have never checked after stabilizing and
clearing. Dont know if doing those 2 procedures changes it muck. I will
check after all that on my next batch to see if that does much.

The only thing I have read is that if a must is fermented with a high percentage of citric, then it stands a better chance of being (consumed?) in the fermentation. I've tested a couple fruit wines so far both ends, haven't really seen any noticeable change

LT

"I use my high tech tongue to do my acid testing so what do i know"

That's a nice acid testing tool to have. I can only hope I get to that point someday. I will be tasting my must before I test it to see if I can guess "high" or "low". I will probably test after it's stabilized too just to see if it changed.

Proper acid will generally activate your saliva glands, assuming you are not hungry or suffering from some sort of Pavlovian response to something else.

Take a sip and see.

earl