Other A LITTLE VIOGNIER STORY

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rgecaprock

Reaction score
As some of you know Curtis works as a wine consultant at Spec's Wine, Liquor and Finer Foods here in Houston and I have been making wine for 3 years now and have been with this great forum that long too.
Every Thursday his company has a wine tasting for the consultants on the featured wines and winery direct products that they sell.

Today they had a Mystery Wine. It was placed on the table in a brown paper bag and everyone could pour and taste. This was a white wine, smooth, fruity, and light. It received great reviews!!! When it was revealed it turns out that it was a bottle of VR California Viognier that was one of the first wines I ever made in 2005. Curtis had given it to one of his co-workers back then and he hadn't opened it. It ended up on the tasting table inthe brown bag. Curtis brought home about 1/3 bottle that was left for me to try. It was very nice, smooth, with a great mouth feel and fruitiness. I don't get to try my wines after they have aged because they go to fast and I give so much away. It was a very nice surprise and it made my day. It is as fine as any Viognier I have ever had!!!

RamonaEdited by: rgecaprock

What a treat for you and a testimony on the benefits of letting your wines age.