71B-1122 limits confusion

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cajunlte

Reaction score
So I am new to the wine making scene and learned a great deal with my first ever wine using Old Orchard Apple Cherry concentrate. What I didn't plan for was the fact that I believe my starting SG (Didn't have the hydro yet) was very high causing the fermentation to stop at 1.030. Question I have is with yeasts like 71B. What happens when ACV hits 14%? Does it continue to ferment higher until all of the sugar is gone or is it hard to push? I have since sorbated and K-meta'd the batch, but don't know what to expect going forward. It doesn't smell quite hot although I have yet to taste it.

Typically, once a yeast reaches its max alcohol tolerance it will tend to poop out and die shortly thereafter. However, sometimes you can get surprised. However, just because the tolerance might be say %15 does not mean it will always hit it. Ie, if you run out of nutrients, the fermentation can stall out even if you are below the ABV tolerance and their are still sugars remaining.

So I am going to probably end up with fairly sweet wine then? I plan on letting it site for a couple weeks before racking off the lees to another carboy and plan on tasting at that time. Really don't know what to expect.

At 1.030 you are going to have a very sweet wine. Give it a go, you may like it. I make something similar to what you did using Welch's grape concentrate(look on here for jswordy and you will see the link in his signature). I start it out at 1.140-1.150. I use RC-212 and it usually dies off around 1.028-1.032. Too sweet for me, but my wife and her friends love it. Finishes around 14% ABV.