17 years of brewing new to wine

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wineview

Still waiting.........
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Hi there,

I have been brewing beer for 17 years and would like to start making wine. I am assuming I can use much of the equipment I already have. I brewed in 6 gallon glass carboys. I've heard glass can produce a fizzy wine but I already have one of those wands that attach to a drill. I used it to aerate my wort.

I also have about 600 brown 12 oz. bottles and some Grolsch type bottles with the ceramic flip top and rubber washer. Is there any reason I couldn't use those bottles and cap as I did my beer? Seems there are a lot of screw caps out there in addition to corks.

I think I would like to start with juice and skip the crushing step at this time. Any pointers would be appreciated.

Thanks
WV

Fermentation in carboys is possible but you will find it easier to do the fermentation with a bucket. With a carboy you can end up with foam fountains which are both messy and wasteful of your wine. Also starting with a 6 gallon carboy for fermentation, you will only be able to fit about 5 gallons in there safely, to avoid those foam fountains.

As to bottles certainly you can use 12 oz bottles but it will mean that serving more than two people will involve two bottles rather than one standard wine bottle. As the Grolsch - they may work but not sure that they will provide good long term seals, That's something that may be true for those 12oz bottles with beer type caps.

If you have a recycling center nearby you can easily gather plenty of empty wine bottles while your wine is aging. Keep in mine that unlike beer, a good wine is best aged at least a year, whereas most beer is consumed well within that time I believe. (Not really knowledgable about beer making and storage.)