Winemaking Tool Box

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Steve

Reaction score
Since I am new to winemaking and have only made kits, I do not have anything to make scratch wine. I do have the equipment that came with my kit: primary, secondary(6 gal), hydrometer, tubing, bottle filler, air locks, bugs(solid and drilled), auto siphon, spoon, bottle tree and rinser, carboy brush, wine whip, hand corker, a couple different sanitizersand some miscellaneous stuff.

What basic chemicals, yeast, and other equipment would you recommend having on hand for starting scratch wines?

Thanks in advance... Everyone has been very helpful.

1. <LI>sugar</LI>
    <LI>Wine Conditioner</LI>
    <LI>1 gallon glass jug</LI>
    <LI>bentonite</LI>
    <LI>pectic enzyme</LI>
    <LI>acid blend</LI>
    <LI>acid test kit</LI>
    <LI>campden tablets</LI>
    <LI>tannin</LI>
    <LI>imagination</LI>
    <LI>sense of humor</LI>
    <LI>straining bag</LI>

Some chemicals you will need:

powdered Potassium Metabisulfite and(campden tabs for small batches if you don't have a good gram scale), Acid Blend, Calcium Carbonate, Potassium Sorbate, Pectic Enzyme,Grape Tannin, Yeast Nutrient, Yeast Energizer

Thanks everyone, any other equipment that you would recommend and what kind of acid test kit is best for a beginner?

Steve,

This test kit is all you need and it is very easy to use

http://www.finevinewines.com/ProdDetA.asp?PartNumber=5400

In addition to whatever yeast you choose for your wine it is always good to have some extra on hand in case you have issues with a stuck fermentation.

This is a good choice:

http://www.finevinewines.com/ProdDetA.asp?PartNumber=3410

Depending on what size batches you do you will also need the correct size carboys or jugs.

A great article to help you get started: