Wine kit brands

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TheGoodLife

Reaction score
Just wondering what are your favorite brands of wine kits. I'm still new to this and probably haven't had any wine kits age long enough to make a fair comparison but so far I prefer RJ Spagnols Grand Cru kits over Winexpert Selection Series and Vintners Reserve kits...What are your thoughts?

Mark

Hi MArk.
I've made MM, RJ and CC. Seems to me that a kit that is whole juice needs more time ageing. With a kit that you add water to I short mine on the water making it better right off the bat.

I've had good luck with (some better, some worse) but I've kind of settled on whole juice for long term storage and concentrate kits to have it available to drink sooner. I've never tried WE or VR kits

I just bought 2 barrels and will start ageing longer on all my wines so I'll have to see how it goes.

Thanks for the advice! Are you saying there are kits that are not concentrated? I guess I've only noticed concentrated kits.

If so, could you recommend a good Malbec "whole juice" kit.

There is only one brand of "whole juice" kits. That's the Mosti Mondiale All Juice brand. I haven't made any of these, but based on comments here at WMT it's good but not the best.

There are some brands that are 23 litres of juice/concentrate mix, and they vary in quality from 'standard' to quite good.

Otherwise, the kits are concentrate only, concentrate/juice, or juice/concentrate. Generally the smaller the box the more concentrate.

To answer your original question, I really like the Ken Ridge Showcase and Cru Select brands. The En Primeur, Cellar Classic Winery Series, and Cellar Craft Showcase also get consistently good feedback, but I don't have much personal experience with them.