Wine Expert's Needed !!!

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Angell Wine

Reaction score
I'm trying to find some information about a bottle of Pauillac that was given to me by friend. I don't think he knows what he's got. He said he had a case of it. Can anybody tell me what a .750 ml bottle is going for ?
Here's whats on the label:

Bottled exclusively for Chalone by Domaines Barons De Rothschild (lafite)

Reserve Speciale

Domaines Barons de Rothschild

Pauillac 1988

Appellation Pauillac controlee

Bordeaux Red Wine
Shipped by: Grancru - Pauillac
Product of France

I’m no expert, but I’ll chime in anyway.
smiley17.gif
The first thing I noticed was “bottled for Chalone”. That’s a California winery. Are you sure the spelling is not Chalon or Challon?
<?:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:eek:ffice:eek:ffice" /><O:p></O:p>
I do know that some of the most prestigious Bordeaux comes from Pauillac, located in Medoc and that the fame of the area equates to high prices. 1988 is considered a good, but not excellent year for the region. I’ll consult my Parker’s and see what I can find out.
<O:p></O:p>
Have you googled it yet? Can you get a photo? Edited by: sangwitch

The spelling is correct, it's Chalone winery in California. I found this at the SEC site:
The Company produces, markets and sells super, ultra and super-ultra