Blackberry wine needs deacidification

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ExperiMental

Junior
Reaction score
Hi there Guys,

So happy to have found this forum!

I come with my hat in my hand looking for advice on removing some of the acid in my almost finished blackberry wine.

First the facts, then the story.

I have 25L of blackcurrant wine started Sept 14th. It tastes amazing but is incredibly acid.

PH is 3.08

My friend did a titration and deduced there is 23g/l malic acid equivalent.

I also have a 4.5l of blackcurrant that was made with less sugar to give a drier wine in case I needed some to blend.

This wine had finished fermenting however I did add a few spoonfuls of sugar to attempt to sweeten it. (yes this is my first attempt at winemaking, but I'm hooked now). The wine had a low SG but it started to ferment slowly again, and has continued. I feel sure that there was not enough sugar to ferment for an extra couple of weeks and the alcohol content would be around 9% I think. I wonder if this wine is having a malo-lactic fermentation?

I was initially given a 23 litre bladder of blackcurrant juice that was made by squeezing the berries, so this is going to be much stronger than fruit steeped in water for must. Also, this bladder had begun to ferment (the reason I was given it) the cost of producing this juice is apparently quite high. So I added 1 campden tablet for each 5 litres of liquid and allowed to stand for a while to kill the wild yeasts. I then added sugar, water and country fruit yeast MA33 by vintners harvest claiming to metabolize 30-35% of the acid.

It does have amazing flavour but too much acid. I sent my partnet to the shops today and she will bring home calcium carbonate to attempt to de acidify.

Does anyone have experience of this?