WineXpert When to check gravity

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JoeCal1952

Reaction score
Hello all!

First thing, I am new to using one of these conical vessels for making wine, but my question should still hold true no matter what equipment you use. The instructions on these kits are vague. I started this Barolo wine on 4/11/15 and the instructions say after 5 - 7 days check gravity and if it isn't at 1.010 or less then leave it in the primary fermentor until it reaches this point.
My question is; The airlock is still very actively bubbling which means it is still fermenting, correct? This is day 5 and I am not sure if I should disturb the must at this point or wait until it stops bubbling?

Thanks
Joe

Last edited:
In the primary ferment stage, have fun. You can't really do much to hurt it. Stir it, check SG, whatever - you're fine. Disturb away. Keep track of your temps along the way.

I'm a newbie, too. So, don't take my word for it. I think I read every thread on here re: fermentation do's and don'ts. You should too.

In the primary ferment stage, have fun. You can't really do much to hurt it. Stir it, check SG, whatever - you're fine. Disturb away. Keep track of your temps along the way.

I'm a newbie, too. So, don't take my word for it. I think I read every thread on here re: fermentation do's and don'ts. You should too.

Thanks JG....I read as much as I could but since I bought this new equipment things are a bit different so I want to make sure I don't spoil anything - I suppose since it is still bubbling I can't do any harm because that's all CO2 in there, not oxygen. I'll wait for more replies or wait till day 7.
Thanks!