Other What makes a kit good?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JoshDivino

Inquiring Knowledge Member
Reaction score
I'm still very new to winemaking but my first few batches have all been from fresh ripe fruit from a close friends vineyard.
What makes a kit better than fresh fruit? How do you tell which kit to buy? There is no way for me to tell based on the description... They all sound great

I would say that your follow the principles that apply to anything else; you get what you pay for. The ultra premium kits source the juice from areas all over the world synonymous with fine wines and you can produce wine capable of matching some very expensive commercial wines for a fraction of the cost.

My rule of thumb is not to make a kit with less than 16l juice.

On a great year grapes make a wine providing done properly that can not be rivaled. On a poor year grapes display that also. Kits are consistent in quality. A person that is a good wine judge will always pick up a kit at a tasting. That is due to the processing a kit goes through by law to be a food item and shelf stable.

I'm still very new to winemaking but my first few batches have all been from fresh ripe fruit from a close friends vineyard.
What makes a kit better than fresh fruit? How do you tell which kit to buy? There is no way for me to tell based on the description... They all sound great

First, welcome.

Some of what you've asked has been answered, so I'll try to parcel out what's remaining. Kits are not necessarily better than going from scratch. One difference, though is the ease in selecting exactly what you want. For example, there's French, Australian, or California chardonnay without oak, with oak, or with toasted oak.