Watermelon Wine

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LAgreeneyes

Reaction score
Anyone here have any success making watermelon wine? I don't think mine is doing too well.

watermelon.jpg

Mine scared me too but it appears it will come out ok. It did discolor my fermentation bucket and a vacuum hose. It's clearing nicely now and tastes ok. It's still too early to call it a success. I started out with a melon zin kit and added watermelon juice to it.

I'm still learning how to make wine and I didn't take notes, so I don't remember what the heck I did. LOL.

What recipe did you use? I moved mine from my bucket/hose setup to what you see in the pic. My excuse was because I really wanted to see what it was doing. Not sure about the smell. I have read that watermelon will spoil quickly but the smell was "ok". I'm thinking I need to add something, anything to it.

I haven't made watermelon wine, but I hear it is a tough one to do. There are some hints on what to do on Jack Kellers wineblog: http://winemaking.jackkeller.net/wineblognew.asp
that you probably want to check out.

Also, and this is pertinent to all wines, not just watermelon. You really don't want that much air space when you have wine in a carboy. I try to keep mine to about two inches or so, which means keeping the wine level up to the neck of the carboy. Air isn't your friend, once you get to this stage.

I haven't made watermelon wine, but I hear it is a tough one to do. There are some hints on what to do on Jack Kellers wineblog: http://winemaking.jackkeller.net/wineblognew.asp
that you probably want to check out.