Trying my hand at some skeeter pee

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tjbryner

Reaction score
Hi all I have been making wine for about 5 years so far and this will be my 1st attempt at making anything using chemicals so please be bear with me. .

So my question is all the bottles of Lemon juice has preservatives in it at the local store......
I had my wife pick up 3 bottles of RealLemon brand, It has the following listed in the ingredients:

Sodium Metabisulfite
Sodium Sulfite
Sodium Benzoate

I plan on using a slurry from my 2 gal batch of strawberry to kick this off.

Will I be OK with these bottles of juice or do I need to find something else?

PS: I'm using Lon DePoppe's Recipe to start with.

Last edited:
Sodium is a much milder version of Potassium Meta. used as it's cheaper than Pot. Meta. Sodium Sulfite is salt. Benzoate is another preservative for freshness.

You'll be fine just remember to keep it warm and introduce lots of oxygen for the yeast. You may even wish to add one bottle of lemon juice up front then much later add the second and finish with the third. The acid in lemon juice is what slows this down.

Thank you so much for a fast and great answer.

I'm going to try to do some of the things I have read here over the last few months... Like making sure I don't have 5 Gals of watermelon explode in the basement again....Bottled it a little soon...No hydrometer.

You guys have given me a ton of useful information already can't wait to learn more.

Thanks
TJ

Hi all I have been making wine for about 5 years so far and this will be my 1st attempt at making anything using chemicals so please be bear with me. .

So my question is all the bottles of Lemon juice has preservatives in it at the local store......
I had my wide pick up 3 bottles of RealLemon brand, It has the following listed in the ingredients: