Sweetening Wine (need a little help

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TNFISHRMAN

Reaction score
I am new to Wine making and had trouble with an after-taste after sweetening my first batch (on my own that is, had good help the first round)before bottling. I used a recipe that a good friend uses and has never had a problem with it. Would like some other options for Sweetening my wines if you all would share some recipes. Thanks, Lynn Hobbs

Before sweetening, make sure the wine has been stabilized with the appropriate amount of potassium metabisulphite and potassium sorbate, after the wine has fermented dry. This should be done while racking off sediment or lees. At the next racking off sediment, (clearing process), or fines, use a saucepan on the stove and heat up 2 cups of the wine, or you can use water, with 1/4 cup sugar per gallon of finished wine. In other words, in a 5 gallon batch, thieve 2 cups of the wine and put in the pan with 1 and 1/4 cups of cane sugar. Heat and stir just until the sugar has melted clear. Let this cool some and then use a funnel to pour it into the clean recieving carboy. Rack the wine onto it and top up well. Let this sit topped up somewhere cool and dark, (closet?), for at least a month. You will then want to taste and maybe sweeten up more at the next racking or before bottling. It will probably be sweet enough. You can use 1/8 cup sugar per gallon the first time and let sit before tasting. That is sometimes enough for some people. (me)

Does all this make sense? It is probably a long-winded way of a simple instruction. I have been long-winded all day! Good luck.

smiley4.gif