Sugar prices hit decade high

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
We need to grow more fruit and support honey bees!
No surprise of this shortage- we need to conserve our land . .. *Also perhaps a message to promote artificial sweeteners..?
( to “save” us if we run out of real sugar!;)
(Did you see the Cleveland Clinic study on Heart disease recently where they found terrible dangers of Erythritol related to Stroke /sudden death? 😱) YIKES! Tell your friends.
( I pitched my recent “ sugar free”
Keto acquisitions!🛢️😵)

Not surprised at all, I didn’t read beyond the headline of what you linked to, but sugar is a commodity and pretty much all commodities are under intense long term inflationary pressure. I am no expert but believe we’ve only seen the beginning…

Personally I always have a boatload of sugar. I buy and rotate stock.

The crazy thing is that in my Kroger the price of bananas is going down. Not something we grow in Ohio. I started another banana wine a month ago because I got organic bananas with a couple brown spots for .29/lb, regular price is .59/lb. I grab the discounted when I see them, let them ripen, then into the freezer.

Personally I always have a boatload of sugar. I buy and rotate stock.

The crazy thing is that in my Kroger the price of bananas is going down. Not something we grow in Ohio. I started another banana wine a month ago because I got organic bananas with a couple brown spots for .29/lb, regular price is .59/lb. I grab the discounted when I see them, let them ripen, then into the freezer.
Sounds like an interesting vino -- is your recipe/protocol posted somewhere?

Cheers!

Sounds like an interesting vino -- is your recipe/protocol posted somewhere?

Cheers!
No, I usually only post "unusual" wines.