Steamer Update

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Wayne said:
If Waldo is listening - as a steaming newbie I would love to know how to add water without taking the top part off!

ME 2 !

I use the same amount of fruit per gallon that is recommended in any recipe.......Like.....3#/gallon...I use to add a couple pounds if I had extra fruit, just because I was unsure about getting all the goodies out and had no one to compare my findings to.

I think the flavors of the fruits come through nicely....some fruits have more juice and flavors than other fruit.

I find Raspberry flavor to really shine through...Apple is the least rewarding with giving up it's juices....but the juice is well worth the effort ....Think an apple/fruit press would be better for those....Tho, Crabapples work great.

Experiment and share your findings....

Thanks Waldo for the link - I had missed that one. I think welding an intake port on my juicer may be beyond me but I enjoyed reading the wholesaga of your juicer!

Wayne

How do you guys can your juice after steaming? I usually steam juice when I am ready to make another batch. The only problem is I run out if room in my freezer for fruit. Canning would let me store in the pantry and free up some freezer space.

I can in mason jars. Process it the same as if you were doing fruit and vegetables.

Wash and sterilize your jars. Sterilize the lids. Pour juice to 1/4 inch below the lid and place the lid and ring on it. Process in 180 degree water bath for 10 minutes and remove. Make sure the jars are sealed by checking the lids, You should hear them click when the vacuum sucks it closed.