Starting to grow and grafted grapes

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Papa Giorgio

Junior
Reaction score
Hi all,
So awhile ago I posted about planting my own grape vines. I did it. Jumped right in. Total novice! But they’re starting to grow. I just put in 4 cab sav. And I have 4 cab franc. Growing. See attached picture. Two questions. Number one, what is the next step with the cab franc(photo shown) DB1BA4BD-1A01-420D-90F7-7F2E4F86725C.jpegdo they look ok? Should I just let them go a bit?
The other question is

I just put in cab sav. They are grafted grapes and according to the place I bought they said I needed to ( mound soils over the knotted area until it grows then pull it back) is this necessary and of so what’s the reasoning behind it?

I’m in almost the same stages as you. I’ll attempt to answer your questions. Question one: Let them grow until they reach your first wire (assuming you have a trellis installed) and pick the strongest looking one and clip off the other(s). You are not going to get grapes this year as grapes only will form on year two branches.

Question two: The grape wants to grow. Because it’s been grafted, you actually have two different grapes but you only want the grape vine above the graft. By burying the stock, even the graft ball, you limit the opportunity for everything below the soil because sunlight is a catalyst. If the only exposed part of the vine is what you want to grow you have a better chance of that taking all or most of the energy produced by the soil, light and water.