SO2 Testing Question for Masta and others

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Hal Maulden

Reaction score
Scott,

I was talking with George today and he stated that you had done lots of work with SO2 analysis. So have I. Could you share your research?

Hal

Hal,

What part of SO2 analysis are you interested in.... method of testing?

Thanks for the reply. Yes, the analysis. I am a chemist by trade so this comes very natural. I have tried the titrets. They work OK but they are very expensive. I also bought the Iodate/Iodide from Cellar Supplies before they closed and it seemed to work ok, until here recently. It seems to be off now, but I don't have any chemicals to do a standardization with. Have you tried the Vinofern (sp?)? I am now getting into MLF and I need to control the SO2 a little closer.

Thanks for your insight.

Hal

Hal,

I put on the lab coat this morning and ran some tests and here are the results:

I made up a solution of water and K-meta and used a calculation (11.3 L water and 0.3 grams K-meta powder) which should have given me 15 ppm fee SO2. The problem is the sulfite calculator assumes 50% of the sulfite will become boundin your must or wine so the total sulfite is actually 30 ppm. I am not sure if any sulfite becomes bound in water.

Ran 2 tests on water/meta solution with the Iodate/Iodide from Cellar supplies and both testsshowed 25 ppm of free SO2. Which appears fairly close to the original calculation

Ran 2 test with the Vinoferm Acidometer/Iodic (SO2) Solution and both tests showed only 10 ppm of free SO2.

Looking back on past testing it appears the Vinoferm tests usually came out lower then the Iodite/Iodide.I have been using theIodite/Iodide from Cellar Supplies because I think it is easier to use and since you are counting drops is more accurate.