Small trellis design help.

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

shwymie

Junior
Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

I am in the process of designing a small single-wire trellis and I was hoping for some comments and advice. This is my first time growing grapes and building a trellis.

I am growing 3 varieties of muscadine and I have 6 plants of each organized into 3 rows of 6. Because of the space and how I planted the vines, my trellises (?) are going to go across each row such that each trellis will have 1 plant of each variety, and thus 3 plants per trellis and 6 trellises in all.

The questions I have pertain to the materials.

1. End posts: 8 ft by 4 in CCA treated posts (approx 3 feet in ground with cement and 5 feet above ground).

Will be put straight into ground with no bracing (I'm thinking that with only 3 vines, I don't need the additional post support).

2. Line post: two 8 ft studded metal T post (one in between each vine).

3. 9 ga high-tensile wire.

4. Wire will be terminated to end posts using "quick-ends"

ImageUploadedByWine Making1461616911.233703.jpg

Am I missing anything or do you have any suggestions to make the above easier to install, better, longer lasting, etc?

Any thoughts, advice or suggestions would be much appreciated!

Thanks!

Evan