scuppernong wine

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

coolbreeze

Junior
Reaction score
I am a new to this forum. I am from Mississippi and the absolutely only grape one can grow in my area for wine is the scuppernong.

I have been making scuppernong wine for about 8 years now and have had really good results. I have 22 vines and produce a lot of grapes for my purpose. My wines clear really well with a little help from peptic enzyme and SuperKleer.

The information I am seeking relates to the actual juice from the grape. Heretofore, I have been crushing about 60 pound of grapes and making 5 gallon batches with that amount.Sixty pounds of scupprenong grapes will yield about 3 gallon of actual juice. I have added sugar and water to bring the total to around 6 gallon for the primary fermentation. I usually start with a sg of 1.085 and try to get below 1.000.

My grapes are well into ripening and I am wonderingwhat would happen if I used100% juice from the grape,allowingroom forthe necessary added sugar.I have done a fairly exahaustive search but there is not much anywhere for scuppernong.

I'm definetley not the one to ask as I dont have the money to buy
grapes or the tools to press them and have no grapes growing near me
but would think that you would get a better product out of a
non-watered down version. Welcome to this forum and I'm sure someone
with more knowledge of scupperog wines will chime in soon.

The Native American grapes most often have a high acid and low sugar content. Most of the instructions for making wine from these grapes include adding water to dilute the acidity and adding sugar to get an acceptable level of alcohol. A wine made with undiluted grape juice may be so tart from the acidity that it is undrinkable.<?:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:eek:ffice:eek:ffice" />