rookie winemaker

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rkfelpel

Junior
Reaction score
Hello,

I am a rookie to wimemaking and had few questions before I get started, I have friend who makes his own wine without using any yeast for fermentation. he buys grape juice not concentrate about 5 gallons on a specfic grape variety put it in a 5 gallon glass carboy sealed for 2 months filters once and put it back in to the glass carboy all while using sterile techniques and after another 2 months bottles the wine and drinks it. The carboy is stored for the 4 months in an area 60 to 70 degress F

Questions?

1. Can you make wine without adding yeast?
2. Is it safe?
3.if it is safe, how come I can not find any info about non yeast wine making on the internet?
4. is the a good simple way to start making wine?
4. Will it ever tast like the bottles I buy @ the wine store?

thanks

Thats rather interesting, can't wait to see what some of the other members may say about this method.

The important question is where does he get the juice. Some brands of juice are pre-inoculated with wine yeast.

Steve