questions about corking

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

croakersoaker

Reaction score
Hi all im very new to wine making and just bottled my first batch (apfelwein).
i have a few questions.the corks that came with my amazon kit were synthetic i believe (pic Below).I assumed they need to be sanitized like everything else so i put them in a star-san solution while i was geting everything ready.(about thirty minutes).Now im reading that your not supposed to soak them so im very confused. Did i ruin my wine? do i have to drink all thirty botlles as quick as possible?also my kit came with a hand corker (pick below) and when i corked them the top of the corks got a little pinched meaning not very flat.is this ok?

th.jpg

corker.gif

Being that these are synthetic I do not think you have a problem. It is when using real cork there are issues with soaking your cork. If it was real cork you may have 1) harmed the structure of the man made cork agglomerated or collimated by breaking down the binder glue that holds these style Cork together. 2) started a mold problem in the natural cork it's self this would case your wine to be corked flavored very unpleasant. In the future most corks come sealed in a plastic bag ready to use soaking is not necessary

Some do not trust that plastic bag. I have had no problems so far trusting it.

After the bag is opened, on the next batch if corks are left over, you will need to spritz each cork with k meta solution from a spray bottle before putting it in the bottle. That's good sanitary practice, to be sure.

And pardon me, but this has become something of a tradition here whenever this type question is asked...

[ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ScXTP_Jz814[/ame]

:)