Question about Big Mouth Bubbler

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mwulf67

Reaction score
I just received a starter kit that included a Big Mouth Bubbler™ 6.5 Gallon Primary Fermentor. There is a noticeable soft spot about the size of fist toward the bottom…the rest of the fermenter is nice and thick and firm, but this one spot is thin and pliable like a solo plastic cup…I can push it in with my finger and it actually crinkles…as a total noob is the normal or is this a defect?

I agree with Rocky, it is defective. I would ask for a GLASS replacement.

I just received a starter kit that included a Big Mouth Bubbler™ 6.5 Gallon Primary Fermentor. There is a noticeable soft spot about the size of fist toward the bottom…the rest of the fermenter is nice and thick and firm, but this one spot is thin and pliable like a solo plastic cup…I can push it in with my finger and it actually crinkles…as a total noob is the normal or is this a defect?

I agree with Rocky, it is defective. I would ask for a GLASS replacement.

For a primary fermenter you want a pail, minimum size 7.9 US gallons. For a secondary fermenter, most people prefer a glass carboy.

Steve

Welcome to the forum!

Sorry to burst your bubble[r]
smilie.gif
but I can't see what use a Big Mouth Bubbler™ 6.5 Gallon Primary Fermentor would be. [I do understand that a/the purpose for the big mouth is to facilitate cleaning.] For a primary vessel I'd want it to have a least another gallon capacity. I'm not anti Bubbler as I have and frequently use and like two of their 6 gallon carboys.

Last edited:
Welcome to the forum!

smilie.gif