Post back sweetening, rapid clearing. Help.

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jmac

Reaction score

Originally posted in the Mead, but moved here.. Got a quick question. I have a couple of year-old Meads that I am taking to a distant gathering for Thanksgiving. I just backsweetening both. They were perfectly clear before backsweetening and now I have that post-back sweeten murky haze. I would just love to let it sit on the shelf and come back to a delicious Perfection, but I need some bottles for the upcoming Thanksgiving holiday. I have some Bentonite that I've had for a while, but if there are others that act more quickly and thoroughly in this backsweetening scenario, I would greatly greatly appreciate it!

Last edited:
First, let me say that I am a newbie at wine making. BSG makes a GELATIN for clearing wine. Most uses are for hard to clear fruit wines, but you might check into that . Perhaps add .2 grams per gallon of mead.
Don't use the gelatin from the grocery store. Someone told me that gives a taste problem. I don't know., but this BSG brand is made for clearing quickly. Check with someone with more experience than me.

I don't know about bentonite (only used it a couple times, and put it in primary), or mead, but when I had a wine turn cloudy at sweetening and I needed it in a jiffy, I used sparkolloid. Falls clear in a few days, you're supposed to leave it alone at least a week. Rack and bottle. Bada boom. Bentonite sediment is just way too fluffy.

It's also why I started sweetening long before bottling, so it could clear naturally. My wines almost ALWAYS get cloudy when I backsweeten. Which, I know, doesn't help you at all now...

I