Quantcast

Plum wine and acid

Wine Making Talk

Help Support Wine Making Talk:

sjo

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2009
Messages
187
Reaction score
12
I started a batch of plum wine using Wades recipie except for I only had 24 lbs of plums. I had 6 lbs of concord grapes in the freezer so I threw them in. My SG got up to 1.100 so I diluted with water to bring it to 1.088. It is now a 7 gallon batch. Now for the question. I measured acid and got a reading of 6.8 with no acid additions. I have read that concord grapes are high in acid, is it possible 6 lbs added that much acid?
I mashed the grapes and depitted plums. Are the grape seeds fine in the must as long as they were not broken?
Luc removes the plum pulp after 2 days in the primary. What will happen if this is in longer?
thanks,
Scott
 

Wade E

Premium
Joined
Jul 3, 2006
Messages
33,224
Reaction score
272
It all epends on the type of Plum cause I didnt remove the [ulp for almost 7 days. I cant see 6 lbs raising the acid that high but anything is possible. Did you check the ph and TA of the grapes first cause maybe they werent ripe yet meaning that the acid is usually high. The seeds are fine as red grape wines always have seeds in the must.
 

sjo

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2009
Messages
187
Reaction score
12
I did not measure the TA or Ph of the grapes before adding them. the ph of the must is 4 according to the measuring strips.
Scott
 

Luc

Dutch Winemaker
Joined
Nov 5, 2006
Messages
1,615
Reaction score
37
Don't be fooled by plums !!!
They may taste sweet and then......

Mine tasted sweet and acidity was at .10 !!!!
Look here:
http://wijnmaker.blogspot.com/2009/08/pruimentijd-2009-plums-again.html

So the plums you had might have a high acidity that
gives you these readings.

Again prove for my statement:
Recipes are just a guideline.
if you want to be sure, do the measurements.

Luc
 
Top