Pinot Nior and Riesling

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Ok, my partners and I changed our minds and just ordered the Chilean Pinot Nior and Riesling buckets.

Questions:

Raisins? Use them in each or not. I am familiar with them adding body and not really affecting flavor.

Oak? Not in Riesling, but how about the Pinot? Maybe one gallon worth to experiment.

Back-sweeten? I will on the Riesling, but how about the Pinot?

I know a lot of this is based on personal preference, but I don't want to waste time and money and effort on something that wont really turn out well based on all of your experiences.

Finally yeast. Cot De Blanc, Cuvee, EC1118?

Thanks all.:b

I'm only gonna address the Riesling, as i have no Pinot Noir experience at all..

I would go with golden raisins, if anything, so you dont affect the appearance of the finished wine - but this would depend on how the juice tasted & might not be needed if its high quality.

My gut says to go with Cote de Blanc yeast..

1118 is too burly for a wine like this in my opinion - unless its late harvest / ice wine.. I feel it would blow too many aromatics off during fermentation, just due to the nature & vigor of the yeast strain.

Cote de Blanc is used in fruit wines to help retain and bring out those fruity flavors and aromas - Rieslings are similar with their stone-fruit flavor profile

I would oak the Pinot Noir but would never backsweeten it. IMO

I have a problem with raisins. Seems I can usually taste the raisin flavor, if they are added to a wine. Maybe the golden raisins would work better, though, but I don't know.

The Pinot can be a little thinner than other reds and no one will even notice.