NY Times: The American wine industry has an old people problem

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I find it interesting that so many of us started drinking wine around age 40. Makes me think it's more complicated than just marketing. Might be a good socio-economic psycho-babble study.

I might be an anomaly but I started drinking wine when I got my under graduate degree and got my 1st real full time job so ~22. Even back then I was wowed by the way wine took food to a whole new level and vice versa. Interestingly my parents did not drink (except at the holidays or social occasions) which were few and far between. When we had dinner parties (once I got married) with friends or my wife's family there was always wine at the dinner table when we had get togethers. It took me a while to graduate from Riunite to more drier things but it happened slowly but surely in just a few years time.

My grandfather was a winemaker. As children, we got sips and even a (very) small glass on holidays. Wine was always on his table. My dad had wine at dinner by the time I was ten years old. It was always there.

Growing up, none of my friends were familiar with using wine. Their dads drank beer. They thought that it was weird that my grandfather made wine.

When I got to college I found out that most of the girls didn't like beer. But they liked sweet wine. I bought a lot of Liebfraumilch. After a while they got bored and graduated to Mouton Cadet. Cheap, reliable, same from year to year.

That's the key. Market to young women. Sweet(ish) and consistent from bottle to bottle at an affordable price.

Fast forward a decade, I was older, more experienced, and had less enthusiasm. I adopted that Dilbert mantra: "Change is good. YOU got first."