Newbie questions

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

goldnut

Reaction score
I am still new to wine making therefore I am a bit confused on some things. The one that I am struggling with right now is when is the proper time to degass? I am using the "Winemakers recipe handbook" that I got from my local wine store. Following the directions in the book to the "T" but the book doesnt get into detail about degassing a or clearing. My plan is to rack the wine after it is done fermenting. Then degass, followed with adding super kleer. Then putting under air lock. Is this going to produce clear wine? Also what does it mean when I read "stabilize then bottle"? Stabilize with K-Meta? Thanks for the help, Ken

Red or White? backsweeten? How long will you let it sit in the carboy?

If you let time do the work, you don't have to degass and use super kleer.

The degasing can be done any time from when fermentation has completed (meaning the same SG reading for 3 days in a row), to never (if bulk aged for 18 months or more). Realize though, that the sooner you remove the CO2, the sooner you'll be adding K-meta to keep the wine protected; the CO2 expelling naturally in a warm (spring, summer, fall) environment can protect the wine to a certain degree, provided it's bulk aging and you're not removing the airlock often.

Personally, I degas when fermentation is over to accelerate the clearing process. But pectin enzyme pre-ferment, bentonite added on the 3rd day of fermentation, and degasing post-fermentation are the only things I add/do to clarify my wines, besides time itself. In most cases you don't need anything more than that, if you have patience.