Newbie looking for advice

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Foldyard

Junior
Reaction score
Hi, I have been growing vines for a few years and this year decided to make some wine from the grapes. Unfortunately I added too much sugar and had to throw the must away. So instead I bought 100kg of Montepulciano grapes imported from Italy. I have the must in 4x25L plastic buckets and it has been fermenting for a week. The SG has fallen below 1.00 but there are still alot of bubbles appearing whenever I punch down the cap. Should I rack off the wine now into secondary fermentation vessels, or should I wait until the bubbling significantly decreases? All advice appreciated.

A lot of the bubbles that you see when punching down the must is just trapped bubbles not necessarily new, active fermentation bubbles. If it has been fermenting for a week already and down to 1.000 then I would go ahead and press. There has been enough skin contact. I wouldn’t want to risk waiting too long and not having enough CO2 blanketing the wine from oxidation especially with that much wine.

A lot of the bubbles that you see when punching down the must is just trapped bubbles not necessarily new, active fermentation bubbles. If it has been fermenting for a week already and down to 1.000 then I would go ahead and press. There has been enough skin contact. I wouldn’t want to risk waiting too long and not having enough CO2 blanketing the wine from oxidation especially with that much wine.
Thanks. Makes sense.

Wine in the early steps is very forgiving. When your ferment slows you could press into a carboy or you could try to hold in a CO2 head and try to extract more/ extended laceration. I am lazy so press and forget it.