new resident in the vineyard

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

johngg123

Reaction score
I almost had a heart attack when I saw this guy coming out of a hole in one of the rows. He's about 5 feet long. We've got a big gopher population so after I calmed down a bit I realized I like him! :hug

IMG_8122.jpg

I think it might be a Night Snake but I'm no expert.
If it is that thing is huge! 2' night snake is a good sized one but 5' wow!
If it is use caution, they are venomous but pose little threat to humans, or at least when not on steroids!!

Mike is right, it is a gopher snake. We have two types of snakes around here and they are rattle snakes and gopher snakes. Gopher snakes are harmless to humans, but deadly to gophers. I hope he stays around!

Yeah, I have to agree with everyone here. I am not a snake lover, but in the past couple of years, we have been over run with voles. Once they get into the grape roots, they will kill the vine. Last year while working on them I had about a 5 foot black snake that would not even move for me, then I seen that it had a couple of bumps in it, so we came to the understanding that it could stay as long as it ate the voles. Have not seen it this year, but while putting in an end post the other night, I had a 4 foot water snake crawl over my shovel. Even after I picked it up and moved it away, it was in no big hurry to leave. Can only hope that it is living high on the vole. I guess they do good. I just wish that they would do good when I'm not around. Don't know how you can live around those rattle snakes.

The only snake in my area where I live that will not get a pass from me is the Cottonmouth Water Moccasin! All other snakes are ok with me.