New Barrel Questions

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Cjk

Chris
Reaction score
Hello Everyone,

I'm new to wine making, but love it already. Thank you all for this great forum. I have already learned a great deal from all of you with this wonderful forum. My beautiful wife will be getting me a 23l Vadai barrel for Fathers Day this year.

I have two WE Eclipse Kits clearing now (Barolo and Pinot Noir).
I am also planning on starting a CC Red Mountain Cab within the next few weeks

My plan is to break in the new barrel with the Barolo (I have not added the oak cubes) for 4 weeks +/-
Next will be the Red Mountain Cab for 8 weeks +/-
I was thinking of maybe putting the Pinot Noir in the barrel for a short period of time. (Not sure if that's smart with a new barrel)

My first question: do you think I should put the Pinot Noir in the barrel? If so how long? I do like oak flavor in my wine, but have read that it's easy to over oak a Pinot Noir. This would only be the third wine in the barrel so I'm concerned it may take on too much oak quickly.

If it's not a good idea to Oak the Pinot: Is 8 weeks after first coming out of the barrel a reasonable amount of time to wait to consider putting the Barolo back in for a longer time? I've read from some of you that the Oak falls off and you can rack back in the barrel for longer.

Last question: When you top off the barrel what are you using to store your top off wine. Splits? Do I need anything smaller?

Thank you Everyone,

Chris

You're gonna love having a barrel! And that wife of yours is a keeper for getting you one.

I did a similar thing with my second barrel. I had used it for 12 weeks, when I put a Pinot Noir in it for 8 weeks. 18 months later, I taste almost no oak whatsoever. Taste it weekly to see how it's going, just to be safe.