Need to lower pH in red wine.

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

StevenD55

Reaction score
I have several batches of wine predominantly from Valiant grapes (known for low acid and difficult for me to read TA results due to very dark color). All of the batches appear to need a lowering of the pH and all have gone through primary fermentation, unfortunately. Right now one batch is in excess of 4.2 according to my meter and granted calibration may be an issue since I'm new to using it. Regardless, the wine does taste a little flat and a bit sweet. So, I'm thinking that even if the calibration is off, it still indicates a potential problem.

So, I'm wondering what best type of acid might be to add, malic, tartaric or citric and what pitfalls might be awaiting me.

Thanks.

I'm open to suggestions. ABV is about 10 to 11%. All started at about 20 to 21 Brix and are at .990 to .992 now.

add tartaric acid. make a 10% solution by dissolving 10 grams tartaric acid in 100ml of water. use a 100ml sample of wine, more than one. add one ml of solution to one, 2 ml to next increase by one ml each sample do taste test. each ml equals one gram/liter of acid to be added to in finished wine. use taste bud not measurement of ph, numbers are fine but taste buds are the best to determine best wine sample.

Thanks all

Salcoco

Can you explain why tartaric acid is preferred?

Yes.... Add tartaric acid and test again in a week... Although making a 10% solution is probably best. Through years of my comfort level I add 20 grams to a carboy at a time. It might take two or three times to get it where you want it though.

... and difficult for me to read TA results due to very dark color).

I also advise using tartaric acid.