Need advice

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ernest T Bass

Reaction score
I am in the process of purchasing 30 muscadine vines from Ison's
10 ea Pam (Female)--10 ea Black Beauty (Female) and 10 ea Ison (Black
Self-fertile - they tell me that this is a Male). Also purchasing 30 Blue X
Shelters.
Row 1= Female, 6 vines, Row length 120 ft
Row 2= Male----------Same------------
Row 3=Female--------"----------
Row 4=Female---------"-----------
Row 5=male--------"----------
Row 6=Female--------"--------
Three Cross Ties on each row, ends and center
12 gauge wire on top
T-Post between cross ties
Soil Sample and correct
This is my first time on a large scale so I need all the help and advice I can get.
Thanks
Semper Fi

How far apart are the rows? Keep in mind that for proper pollination the rows can't be any further than 20' apart.

The rows will be 10 feet apart and 30 feet from the fence line. I figure wide enough to get a tractor and 7 ft bush hog between them. Does that sound alright?
Thanks
Semper Fi

That sounds fine, good luck. BTW, how do you plan to do the picking? I do mine by hand one at a time which is quite time consuming.

I also plan on picking by hand, one at a time and only the ripe one. Put them in a zip lock bag and add to it as they ripen.

Wish me luck

Semper Fi

Will you be using them all for wine or maybe selling for fresh eating? I sell most of mine for the fresh market but save enough for a couple batches of wine.

how far apart in the row 120 foot row sounds a little long for six vines